Crocheting Journey

While browsing Facebook last weekend, I saw a post which highlighted crocheted dragon scale gloves. I’ve learned how to crochet in the past, but I’ve never completed a project. Seeing these gloves filed me with motivation, and when I’m motivated, I can do wonders!

I immediately called a friend and asked her to refresh my crocheting skills. Luckily, she agreed! We spent a few hours reviewing single crochets and double crochets, and then went to buy new yarn and needles. With her blessing and reassurances I could reach out to her when stuck, I went home and started practicing.

Though I haven’t perfected the basic stitches yet, I’m improving.

Confident in my budding skills, I attempted the dragon scales–with varying success.

Yesterday, (after four days of practice) it finally clicked in my brain. Tonight, I started a demo pair of gloves–I’m not TOUCHING my good yarn till I’m more confident! I got two scales done before realizing I made a mistake. But, that’s the farthest I’ve gotten in the pattern so far, so I’m counting it a success!

I’m going to start attempt number two.

Categories: Crocheting | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.