Quick Review: Calamity

15704486

Calamity was the third and final novel in Brandon Sanderson‘s The Reckoners series.  Brandon Sanderson is one of my favorite authors.  I’ve adored everything I’ve read by him–and I’ve read almost everything he’s published.

Calamity was a great conclusion to the story.  The main character, David Charleston, was so likable and sweet, I just fell in love with him.  And his budding relationship with Megan was so well done and believable.  One particular element I really enjoyed about their interactions was how they had to trust one another.  They were fighting for their lives, and instead of being overly protective and insisting the other shouldn’t fight, they accepted the danger and ran with it.  They both knew there was a chance either could die.  But the risk was necessary for humanity to survive.

To me, this was refreshing because a lot of times–especially in a romantic context–we see a character try to coddle or protect their love interest.  Now, feeling fear for that love interest’s life is not the same as keeping them from that danger.  You can not want them to go and still let them go.  In this way, Megan and David encouraged one another and pushed each other onto their greatest potential.

Sanderson’s humor was also on point for this book.  I feel he has a tendency to overdo the wit of his characters.  This was very much the case in Elantris and even The Way of Kings.  I feel he’s better when he does clever/situational humor–like this series, and the two Legion novellas–instead of trying to make his characters have the sharpest tongues.

One thing that felt lacking was the other characters’ development.  Sanderson went very far out of his way to make the side characters quirky–a Southerner who claims to be Scottish, an African-American French-Canadian–that they seemed unrealistic.  Before starting the third book, I remembered David, Megan, and Prof.  I needed to read a few chapters before the personalities of the others came back to me.  To me, this showed how I wasn’t invested in any of the side characters.  They could have been switched out with a million other personality possibilities and the story would have continued without incident.  Their whole purpose was to be a side character.  And with David taking center stage anyway, it was hard to care about them.

I’ve seen a lot of negativity regarding the ending.  And while I agree that it was quickly resolved, the ending made sense within the context of the story and its world.  Not everything has to be completed with explosions and huge battles.  Sometimes words and deeds can be small and almost insignificant and still have a lasting impact.

All in all, I loved this novel and the conclusion to the series.  Sanderson recently announced a spin-off series set in a parallel of this world due out in 2018.  I’m looking forward to returning here as many times as Sanderson is willing to take me!

Rating 5/5

 

 

Categories: Quick Reviews | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

