Thoughts on 2016

With 2016 comes new resolutions, new goals, and new prospects. It feels like everything can just start over as soon as a new year rolls in. It’s an opportunity to assess current lifestyles and adapt them as needed. Of course, my New Year’s Resolutions are a bit cliche. But that doesn’t make them any less meaningful to me.

Goal 1: Eat better. I’m not going to say “lose weight.” I don’t want that to be my focus because as soon as I hit that goal, the deed is done. Instead, I want to eat better, and lose weight as a side effect. Which leads into the next goal….

Goal 2: Exercise consistently. I’ve been running on my treadmill off and on for the past year or so. However, I want to kick that up a notch and stick with a program. I’m currently halfway through the Couch 2 5K training routine, and the Holiday season threw off my groove. I’ve already got a 5K run scheduled for mid-January, so I really need to get this in gear. On top of that, I want to add in conditioning to my workout. My husband has been rigorous with his weight lifting, sit-ups, push-ups, etc. for the past month or two. I want to emulate him and try to do the same things he’s working on. He’s already seen great results in arm muscles and loss of stomach fat!

Goal 3: Publish a novel. I suffer from a fear of rejection, so I’ve fallen into the rut of writing, writing, writing, without ever polishing and submitting. My goal, then, is to actually sit down and EDIT A FREAKING NOVEL! The idea frightens me more than I care to say. I’m going to make that my number one priority this year (saiyu sen jiko yo!).

Goal 4: Journaling. I want to do some writing that’s not focused on my stories, so I’ve decided to journal a bit more. This will come in the form of blog posts, mostly reviews of books and yaoi mangas (I got a ton of both for Christmas!), as well as random musings I have, or ideas I’m turning around in my head. I might even mention my dogs.

In order to give myself a leg-up, I rearranged our computer room to include a work-nook.  I turned our bookshelves sideways, cutting the room in two.  The computer is in one part of the room, and I have a work desk in the corner beside my bookshelf.  It’s so perfect and cozy!  Having a designated place to write will help me get into the mood.

image

image

I’ve got my work cut out for me this year. But I think that’s good. Keeping busy and always having something to work on will make me more productive. I’m looking forward to a happy 2016!

Categories: Journaling | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

